Notre Dame Math postdocs awarded travel grants

September 10, 2018 • Categories: Announcements

Addabbo Conant Sammartano





Notre Dame Math postdocs Darlayne Addabbo, Gabe Conant, and Allesio Sammartano are among the 2018 recipients of AMS/Simons Foundation Travel Grants

NSF FRG in Model Theory of Differential and Difference Equations

July 17, 2018 • Categories: Announcements

Anand Pillay

Congratulation to Notre Dame mathematician Anand Pillay and his collaborators, who have been awarded a large Focused Research Grant from the National Science Foundation.  Pillay works on problems in model theory, one of the most active areas of mathematical logic.  This FRG comes on the heels of other recent large and prestigious awards to Notre Dame's logic group, including a Research Training Grant which was multiply-renewed and another FRG in effective randomness.…

Timothy O'Meara

June 25, 2018 • Categories: Announcements

Timothy O'Meara

"Timothy O'Meara, Kenna Professor of Mathematics Emeritus and Notre Dame Provost Emeritus, died on June 17 at age 90.  Hired personally by university president Fr. Hesburgh in 1962, O'Meara served two terms as chair of the math department and did much to build it up into one of the

The Math Bunker

May 29, 2018 • Categories: Announcements

Math Bunker

Math Bunker provides tutoring, fellowship for students in proof-based courses.

By Deanna Csomo McCool

In its most recent issue, Notre Dame's College of Science Magazine profiles the math department's student run (and student dubbed) "Math Bunker" in an article called Proof Postive

2018 Richard Sady Dissertation Prize

May 04, 2018 • Categories: Awards and Announcements

Leandro Lichtenfelz

Lien Yung Kao

The Richard Sady Dissertation Prize

The Richard Sady Dissertation Prize is for the best dissertation as judged by the graduate committee. Richard Sady was a graduate student in our department and received his Ph.D. in Mathematics in 1977. He then was an assistant professor at Pembroke State University in North Carolina where he died in 1982. He was beloved by many here. This fund was established in his name.…

Juan Migliore: 2018 Shilts/Leonard Teaching Award

April 26, 2018 • Categories: Awards and Announcements


Juan C. Migliore, Professor of Mathematics, is the recipient of the 2018 Father James L. Shilts, C.S.C./Doris and Gene Leonard Teaching Award. This award, bestowed annually on a faculty member in the College of Science, is named in honor of Father James Shilts, C.S.C., who taught in the Department of Physics from 1961 until his death in 1982, and was endowed in 1984 by Dr. Eugene T. Leonard III in memory of his parents Dr. Eugene and Doris Leonard.  Dr. Leonard III was a member of the Science Advisory Council from 1976 until 1991.  The award recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated sustained excellence in teaching.…

2018 Eli J. and Helen Shaheen Graduate School Award

April 11, 2018 • Categories: Awards and Announcements

Leandro Lichtenfelz

Leandro Lichtenfelz is the 2018 Eli J. and Helen Shaheen Graduate School Award recipient in the Sciences at the University of Notre Dame. The Shaheen Award recognizes one outstanding graduate student from each of the four divisions of the Graduate School, acknowledging excellence in one or more of the following areas: grades, research, publications, fellowships or other awards, teaching, and mentoring.…

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program Awards

April 03, 2018 • Categories: Awards and Announcements

Caitlyn Booms and Michael Foley

Notre Dame seniors Caitlyn Booms (honors math) and Michael Foley (physics and math) have been awarded National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships for next year. Booms intends to pursue graduate study in mathematics and Foley in astrophysics.

Hari Rau Murthy

Goldwater Scholarship 2018

April 02, 2018 • Categories: Awards and Announcements


Matthew Schoenbauer

Katie Gallagher








Junior Katherine Gallagher and Sophomore Matthew Schoenbauer have both been awarded Goldwater Scholarships for the 2018-2019 academic year. This year's 211 Goldwater Scholars were selected based on academic merit from a field of 1,280 natural sciences, mathematics and engineering students from over 2,000 colleges and universities worldwide. For more information see

Anand Pillay: Honorary Doctoral Degree

March 20, 2018 • Categories: Announcements

Anand Pillay

Anand Pillay, the Hank Family Professor of Mathematics at Notre Dame, has been chosen to receive an honorary doctoral degree from Waterloo University's Division of Mathematics on June 15.  Pillay is a mathematician logician specializing in model theory and has written over two hundred articles with dozens of collaborators. The Division of Mathematics at Waterloo, spanning four departments and the school of computer science, represents one of the world's largest and most distinguished concentration of mathematicians.

Subscribe to News | View Archives »