The Department of Mathematics is committed to teaching, research, and service as we contribute to Notre Dame’s becoming a pre-eminent teaching and research university through our own work and interdisciplinary collaboration with others.


Faculty Spotlight

A Problem with the Parallel Postulate - Numberphile: Prof. Juanita Pinzón Caicedo

Mathematical Writing And History Course Summer 2023 For Web

Course Spotlight

Mathematical Writing and History: Summer 2023 Online Course

Math Circles Sring 2023

Math Circles Spotlight

Riverbend Math Circles at Notre Dame: Spring 2023

Upcoming Events

View All Events

Timothy O'Meara Mathematics Library

The O. Timothy O’Meara Mathematics Library was opened in the Mathematics lower level of Hayes-Healy Hall in 2001, blessed by Fr. Hesburgh, C.S.C., in 2002, and named for Prof. O’Meara, mathematician and Notre Dame’s first lay provost, in 2008. As of the Summer of 2020, the mathematics library was moved to the Hesburgh Library. Please visit the new Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, Statistics, and Probability library in the lower level of the Hesburgh Library.

Learn more about the Library