News » Archives » 2019

2019 Richard Sady Dissertation Prize

April 24, 2019 • Categories: Awards and Announcements

The Richard Sady Dissertation Prize

James Quigley

The Richard Sady Dissertation Prize is for the best dissertation as judged by the graduate committee. Richard Sady was a graduate student in our department and received his Ph.D. in Mathematics in 1977. He then was an assistant professor at Pembroke State University in North Carolina where he died in 1982. He was beloved by many here. This fund was established in his name.…

Riverbend Community Math Center

April 17, 2019 • Categories: Announcements

Riverbend Math Center Logo

Several faculty in Notre Dame Math collaborate on projects with the Riverbend Community Math Center.  RCMC is a South Bend area non-profit aimed at improving and enhancing all aspects of K12 math education. Some of its activity was featured recently in this

2018 Putnam Competition

March 28, 2019 • Categories: Announcements

Congratulations to this year's Putnam Team!  The Notre Dame Team for the 2018 Putnam Examination consisted of Yuxin Lin, Matthew Schoenbauer, and Ting Gong.  This year's team scored a combined score of 78 for a national rank of 31 out of 568 participating schools.  This is a great achievement! Additionally we had a number of students who scored above 10 points: Aram Rashduni and Ting Gong; above 20 points: Enhao Feng, Matthew Schoenbauer;  and Yuxin Lin who scored 40 points and is ranked 224 nationally amongst all test takers. Special mention goes to Yuxin Lin and Ting Gong who ranked top 20 nationally at the Virginia Tech math competition.

Congratulations to our Graduates in their new positions!

February 25, 2019 • Categories: Announcements

  • Jens Kjaer has accepted a Postdoctoral position with the "Operads, Calculus, and Homotopy theory methods in Topology" (OCHoTop) project. (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) and Université de Lille (ULille)).
  • Adam Moreno has accepted the "E.R. Hedrick Assistant Professor" position (Postdoctoral) at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).

Shaheen 3MT 2019 Competition

February 22, 2019 • Categories: Announcements

Shaheen 3MT 2019

A round of applause for Brian Mulholland and Eric Wawerczyk for trying their hand in ND’s 3 minute thesis competition!

Three Minute Thesis (3MT) is an academic competition that cultivates students’ presentation and research communication skills, and challenges them to describe their research within three minutes to a general audience. 

Geometry of, and Via Symmetries Symposium

February 05, 2019 • Categories: Announcements

Geometry of, and Via Symmetries Symposium in Honor of Karsten Grove's Retirement

Karsten Grove

The goal of this mini symposium is to bring together researchers in Riemannian and metric geometry, and to celebrate the mathematical legacy of Karsten Grove on the occasion of his retirement. …

2018 International Congress of Chinese Mathematicians

January 21, 2019 • Categories: Awards and Announcements

Karsten Grove180

The 2018 International Congress of Chinese Mathematicians has chosen ND Math Professor Karsten Grove and his coauthors Fuquan Fang and Gudlauger Thorbergsson for a Best Paper Award.  The award identifies their 2017 Acta Mathematica paper "Tits geometry and positive curvature" as one of the best thirty math papers in the past five years that includes a Chinese author.