News » Archives » 2009

2009 Richard Sady Prize: John Engbers

November 19, 2009 • Categories: Awards

2009 Richard Sady Prize: John Engbers

John Engbers

Each year the department presents the Richard Sady Prize to our best second year graduate student based on his/her performance in the basic courses he/she took in their first year. Richard Sady was a graduate student in our department and received his Ph.D. in Mathematics in 1977. He then was an assistant professor at Pembroke State University in North Carolina where he died in 1982. He was beloved by many here. This fund was established in his name.…

Alex Himonas - 2009 Outstanding Mathematics Alumnus

September 17, 2009 • Categories: Awards


2009 Eli J. and Helen Shaheen Graduate School Award: Stacy Hoehn

April 14, 2009 • Categories: Awards

Stacy Hoehn

Stacy Hoehn is the 2009 Eli J. and Helen Shaheen Graduate School Award recipient in the Sciences at the University of Notre Dame. The Shaheen Award recognizes one outstanding graduate student from each of the four divisions of the Graduate School, acknowledging excellence in one or more of the following areas: grades, research, publications, fellowships or other awards, teaching, and mentoring.…