Thomas P. Madden Award for Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

This award honors the memory of a former English professor who was one of Notre Dame’s greatest teachers. It is presented annually to that member of the faculty who, in the opinion of a committee of former Madden Award winners, contributed most to the teaching of first-year students. Nominations are submitted by first-year students and first-year counselors.

2014 winner: Arthur Lim

2008 winner: Dennis Snow

2005 winner: Alex Himonas

2003 winner: Pit-Mann Wong

1995 winner: Alexander J. Hahn

1985 winner:  Alan Howard

1981 winner:  Barth Pollak

1978 winner:  John Derwent